Skip to content

A Dream come True

27 August, 2012

This famous song just about sums up the magic of recent developments. Jiminy Cricket, the famous Pinochio’s conscience, sang this song whilst gazing up at the stars. Whilst, as a child I found the film quite scary (the fear of being lost, not to mention mislead or being swallowed up by a giant whale…) there were elements of it that I always remembered. Jiminy’s song being one of them.

I have always been a believer in the possibility of making dreams a reality. I came to the conclusion many years ago, that I could not rely on other people to make my dreams come true; nobody knew as well as I do what my dreams actually are. Only I could do that. Hence the years of research, persistence, determination, passion and focus. Yes my goals have moulded and morphed over the years a little but the main premise remains – to enhance people’s relationships with animals, to research that relationship and to make it as positive as possible for everyone involved including the animals!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

It is this that has been driving me on for months now and continues to fuel my determination to make HumAnima CIC a success. And slowly but surely things are happening. Good things.

  • HumAnima CIC is now a proud Member of Social Enterprise West Midlands (SEWM). 

We will be receiving our members certification at the beginning of September and Flossie will be attending too!

  • Flossie will be joining me at Walsall Independent Living Centre on the 30th September 2012. We will be presenting to both staff and service users at a Children & Family Day about Animal Assisted Therapy and the work that HumAnima CIC is developing.
  • Recently, I have been interviewed by Nitya of Udo and these interviews have been turned into a video diary. I will be doing 6 in total and these will not only give viewers an idea of the work I do but also what’s on the cards 🙂
  • EXCITING NEWS: Courtesy of a fab conference that was held a few months back by SEWM, I am collaborating with two lovely gentleman from Innovista Network. I recently attended a meeting with them at Coventry University’s Serious Games Institute/ Serious Games International who we will be working with on the development of an app. All I can say (as it’s all very “hush, hush!”) is that the app will be for dog owners and will help people to connect. Watch this space!
  • I really need to start working on this book… Yep. You heard right. A book. Next on the agenda is a book. I have NO idea how to write a book, but have thought of a nice idea that will hopefully be the seed for a new creation. One friend in particular (no names being named,… Anna) suggested I write a book. Again, at the time I honestly couldn’t think of anything that could possibly be turned into a book that hasn’t already been written, not to mention the fact that I’ve never really wanted to write a book! Very early days and I’m not entirely sure where to begin. I have the idea but I need to start putting er… finger to keyboard.
  • Our next course, as I’ve mentioned in a previous post, is due on the 6th October 2012 at the beautiful Keele University Sustainability Hub. The course has been extended a little as there is so much information to get through and I also wanted to add a few more activities. This time, hopefully, I shan’t lose my voice!

  • Since the last course I attended a fantastic 4 day course which looked at “Animal Assisted Play Therapy”. The course was run by the lovely play therapists, Rise Van Fleet of Playful Pooch and Tracie Faa-Thompson of Turn About Pegasus. The week was packed with information where we learnt about a unique play therapy approach that incorporates Animal Assisted Therapy. During my time there we worked with dogs, horses and of course, each other! A total blast was had by all and I am very pleased with my photographic record of the occasion!

The approach, otherwise known as AAPT, can be used with adults although it is mainly used with children. As I am not a qualified Play Therapist, it was from the perspective of using the approach with adults that interested me especially as I have a strong belief that our adult lifestyles sorely lack the injection and elements of fun and play that usually infuse childhood. I will be adding a couple of slides to the course to refer to this approach just to make people aware of yet another of Animal Assisted Therapy’s potential applications!

  • With all these developments, I am now looking to work in partnership with other businessess who might be interested in scratching our back and in turn we will scratch theirs. In particular, we will be looking at handmade dog collars, dog t-shirts, dog hoodies, dog groomers and the like. Whilst this will enhance the animal side of the business it will hopefully give us the reach to people who might be interested in the well-being aspect of the business. After all, there are 27mln pets in the UK with 43% of households containing at least one companion animal (PFMA, http://www.dognews.co.uk/uk-pet-owner-statistics/).

Just before I head off to do some more work, the icing on the cake. Last week, I was fortunate enough to have a couple of days off away with a very special person in Wales. We had a great time, staying at Hammet House in Llechryd, Pembrokeshire. Well, it’s been a VERY long time coming but after oodles of years and what has felt like aeons of waiting, I FINALLY saw my first ever dolphin. Granted, it was from the shore (even though we paid to go out on a dolphin spotting trip) and they were a way off but I wasn’t the only one that saw them. Other people brought them to our attention so I know it wasn’t my mind playing tricks on me! It still feels very surreal, and a bit like a dream but it happened. I feel blessed to have seen them even from afar.

It just goes to show,…

2 Comments leave one →
  1. 5 September, 2012 6:21 AM

    Can you tell me why your blog post only loading part way and then not going any further? I’ve tried refreshing the page a couple of times but I’m still unable to see the entire post. SwOu71er.

    • 14 September, 2012 1:11 PM

      Hi, I’m wondering if it’s the browser you’re using. I don’t have any trouble and I’ve never been asked this before. Try opening it in Internet Explorer. Hope that helps.
      Kathryn

Leave a Reply

